2016 in Review

Hey Gals & Guys,

I think most of us are happy to see 2016 on it’s way out! If you’re not, you’re one of the fortunate ones.  I know I’m excited to see the end of 2016.  Overall, I’ve had worse years but definitely better years.  2016 was challenging yet I experienced a lot of growth personally, emotionally, and spiritually. Here’s a brief recap: I had a pretty decent running year.  I was definitely not in the best shape and was plagued with ailments but overall it was a good year. I ran about twenty races which included 5Ks, 4 milers, 10Ks, 10 Miler, Half Marathons, a Marathon.  I also participated in two organized bike rides and a duathlon! 🙂 I got to travel and it seemed like a bit much the first half of the year but marathon training changed all of that the second half of the year.  My highlight for traveling was the Run for Fun Cruise.  I can’t even explain how much fun it was.  It was such a great feeling running in the uphill terrain in Jamaica and the scorching heat in Grand Cayman.  The beautiful scenery in Costa Maya made for a great run too but my all-time favorite was running the streets of Cozumel.  The locals were so much fun and very supportive.  Of course, the margaritas afterwards were refreshing.  I FINALLY self-published my book of poems and a novella.  Honestly, I was a ball of nerves but I figured it was now or never.  It’s been an interesting journey with more in store.  So far it sounds like my 2016 has been fun and great BUT it wasn’t all that! Death will come along and change things.  I try not to be affected by death too much because it’s life and we learn to deal but sometimes it messes with me. When my Grandma passed suddenly it messed with me.  Afterwards, things just seemed to take twists and turns of their own.  My October I was tired of it all… Mentally, physically, emotionally, and spiritually drained.  I wanted a break from it all and in reality I still need a break.  In addition to all my happenings, the happenings in the world were draining as well. I pushed through and here I am ready to step into 2017. I’m excited about things come and uber excited about things that will be left in 2016.  Overall, I’m happy about the things accomplished, the growth, and things learned!  I’ve been blessed to be surrounded by supportive, encouraging, and loving folks all year round.  Many thanks to all!

Happy New Year! May you enjoy a year full of joy, peace, prosperity, and love!

Leave a Reply

