Vegas Hot Chocolate… Inaugural Race!

Vegas Hot Chocolate. Unbeknownst to me, this was the inaugural hot chocolate race for Vegas. It was a challenging race for me. I think lately a lot of my problem is not actually training. I’m just showing up and running races. I haven’t really been in training mode since marathon training. If I’m being honest, marathon training had me a lot burned out. Of course, I still wanted to run and race but I didn’t want to be tied to a rigorous training schedule.

Anyway, back to the race. It was almost too quiet at the start of the race. Atlanta’s running community is huge and there’s always a lot of folks at races. It was great running weather. I had on a thin long sleeve shirt. All was well until I got to mile four, which was a steady incline for longer than I preferred. Not only did I get too hot but I needed my inhaler too. I took my shirt off & minor even #teamSportsBra with this stomach. Anyway, it was instant relief. The highlight of the race was running on I-15! I find it amazing that communities are so welcoming to runners and are willing to shut down a portion of an interstate for a couple of hours. I didn’t get my sub 1:30 time but I wasn’t too far off. I’m not sure what my official time is but I crossed the line at 1:35ish. I’ll take it! Until the next time, run happy!

Close up Vegas Vegas Medal Shoes

Leave a Reply

