Running Reflection…Half Marathon Anniversary!

One year ago today, I was running my very first half marathon!  The training wasn’t as bad as I had thought it would be but on race day I was nervous as heck.  Actually, nervous was an understatement.  My mom, brothers, and friend was in town to show support.  I kept thinking to myself, “I’m about to run 13.1 miles for a darn sticker”.  SMH!  At the start line with my running buddy and all I kept thinking was I’m actually about to do this.  Surely, this makes me a runner.  And so I did… Two hours twelve minutes and fifty-five seconds later I crossed the finish line as a half marathon runner.  I’m sure you all have read previous posts but it was the most overwhelming feeling.

Today, I reflect on my running journey since becoming a half marathon runner.  I’ve run four half marathons since my first one and I’m gearing up for half marathon number six.  They all have been different yet similar experiences.  Publix half marathon was hard but I survived (2:12:00 time).  St. Jude half marathon in Nashville was harder, more emotional and exciting all at the same time (2:14:17 time). Niagara Falls was fun, easy and fun all over again (2:04:44 time).  Diva Half was extremely challenging and I wasn’t 100% (2:25:10 time).  My body never seizes to amaze me.  When I think I can’t I do.  So much of running is mental.  I find it exciting that 13.1 miles is a comfortable distance for me now! Who would’ve known?!

I have new running goals.  Call me crazy but I plan to run a half marathon in all 50 states.  Oh this will take a few years to accomplish but I’ll get it done.  I want to participate in the X half marathons in X states in X days.  That within itself should be interesting.  I am also toying with the idea of running a marathon.  I’ll probably only do ONE! 🙂

Believe in yourself and your abilities! It won’t be easy but definitely worth it! I AM A RUNNER! HALF MARATHON RUNNER!

Runner

Leave a Reply

